Ed Reed 50/50 on RETIREMENT

Baltimore Ravens safety Ed Reed is “50-50” on returning for a ninth NFL season, Edward Lee of the Baltimore Sun reports.

“I’ve been thinking about it,” said Reed. “It kind of hit me on the sideline. It hit me now because I don’t know how much I’m going to be able to have going forward. It’ll be a long offseason just thinking about. It hurts just thinking about it.”

Reed has dealt with injuries the last two seasons, playing with nerve damage in his neck in 2008 and missing the first games of his career during the 2009 season with a groin injury.

“It’s my decision at the end of the day to play with injuries,” he said. “We’ll see. I take good advice from my doctors. It’s been great up to this point, fighting through. I wanted to battle this year even with the injuries I had last year and the injuries I had this year. There were no excuses coming into this season about injuries. That’s why I was never frustrated when I injured my groin. Injuries come especially at this point in my career. You fight through. You lose like this, it’s hard to lay it down. At the end of the day, you have to think about family. I have a family now. We shall see.”

Reed has three years remaining on his current contract, with salaries of $6M in 2010, $6.5M in 2011, and $7.2M in 2012. Reed turns 32 next September, and if he does retire, he’ll go down as one of the finest safeties to ever play the game.

In eight NFL seasons, Reed is not only a six-time Pro Bowler, he’s a six-time All-Pro and was named the AP’s NFL Defensive Player of the Year in 2004. Reed has five quarterback sacks to go with his 46 career interceptions, and has used his dynamic athletic ability to score 12 touchdowns during his career.

Leave a Reply

